The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

A Novel

Book - 1998
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The ghost of a real-life historical figure helps elderly Catherine da Costa convince her granddaughters to travel across Europe with her and helps them find a link between past and present by leaving mysterious journal entries along their travel route

Baker
& Taylor

The ghost of a real-life historical figure helps elderly Catherine da Costa convince her granddaughters to travel across Europe with her and helps them find a link between past and present by leaving mysterious journal entries along their travel route. 30,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 1998
ISBN: 9780684833934
068483393X
Characteristics: 384 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheresaAJ
Dec 29, 2015

Catherine da Costa is a dying woman whose final wish is to see her two granddaughters find their family roots and marry nice Sephardic Jewish boys. When a vision from her family's past visits her one night, Catherine has found her ruse -- a rare book hunt across Europe. This novel intersperses the modern story with pages of an ancient manuscript found during the treasure hunt. The reader also learns about the history of Sephardic Jews and the resilience of a culture during persecution. The only thing missing is a genealogical chart and a map. Fans of Geraldine Brooks' People of the Book and Katherine Neville's The Eight will like this novel.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top