The Fortune Teller's Daughter

The Fortune Teller's Daughter

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Stunning her free-spirited mother by settling down in a quiet New England community, Sabine, a possessor of psychic abilities, helps unravel a local mystery with the help of Dan Smith, who has returned to his childhood home to claim the family business.

Baker
& Taylor

Stunning her free-spirited mother by settling down in a quiet New England community, Sabine, a possessor of psychic abilities, helps unravel a local mystery with the help of Dan Smith, who has returned to the town of his childhood to claim the family business.

Simon and Schuster
In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Luanne Rice, Susan Wilson creates characters we come to know in our hearts as she explores the meaning of love. Sabine Heartwood has finally found a home in the small, quiet town of Moose River Junction. After a childhood of moving from city to city with her footloose mother, fortune teller Madame Ruby, Sabine finds it deeply satisfying to recognize everyone she sees -- in the grocery store, at the local newspaper where she works, and in the town movie theater. But "quiet" doesn't mean dull -- for Danforth Smith has returned from New York City to deal with family affairs, putting on hold his promising career as a film director, and Sabine feels an immediate connection to him. The psychic gift she inherited from her mother tells Sabine that Dan guards a painful secret, and soon her heart is as engaged as her empathy. Then Ruby suddenly appears in Moose River Junction. She has never told her daughter why they moved so often, or from where they originally came -- but now she's finally ready to answer her daughter's lifelong questions about her past. And in typical dramatic fashion, Ruby also announces that Sabine will shortly be at a crossroad that determines her future. But which life-changing event does Ruby mean? Sabine has "seen" a tragic event that occurred in Dan's family more than three hundred years ago, on land his ancestors owned, and she's finally facing the gift on which she turned her back many years ago. She's also dealing with the secrets Ruby has revealed about her history -- and at the same time she is facing the dilemma of loving Dan, who can't wait to leave the very town where she has grown roots. But Sabine must come to terms with all of those changes if she's to learn the truth of her own heart. Abounding in insight and generosity, The Fortune Teller's Daughter is a powerful exploration of love's complexities.

Publisher: New York : Atria Books, c2002
ISBN: 9780743442305
074344230X
Characteristics: 342 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top