Zoli

Zoli

A Novel

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
A unique love story, a tale of loss, a parable of Europe, this haunting novel is an examination of intimacy and betrayal in a community rarely captured so vibrantly in contemporary literature.

Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As 1930s fascism spreads over Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened by the world of books, which is often frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the poster girl for a brave new world. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and savored by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swann.

But Zoli soon finds that when she falls she cannot fall halfway–neither in love nor in politics. While Zoli’s fame and poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own favor. Cast out from her family, Zoli abandons her past to journey to the West, in a novel that spans the 20th century and travels the breadth of Europe.

Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging and survival, based loosely on the true story of the Romani poet Papsuza. It spans the twentieth century and travels the breadth of Europe. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while vividly depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs.

Baker & Taylor
As fascism spreads across 1930s Europe, Zoli Novotna, a young Gypsy poet, and her grandfather seek refuge with a clan of Romani harpists, where her fame as a poet leads to a flight to the West as she struggles to find where she truly belongs.

Blackwell North Amer
A passionate story of love, loss, and renewal set against the political upheavals of twentieth-century Europe, Zoli captures the world of Gypsies more vibrantly than any other novel of the modern era.
Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As fascism spreads over 1930s Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened and inspired by reading books, which are frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the symbol of a supposedly brave new world of tolerance in the Soviet Union. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and admired by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swarm.
But as Zoli's fame grows and her poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own repressive purposes. Cast out from her family, Zoli finally abandons her past to journey to the West.
Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, basing his story on the life of the Romani poet Papusza, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging, and survival. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs.

Baker
& Taylor

As fascism spreads across 1930s Europe, Zoli Novotna, a young Gypsy poet, and her grandfather seek refuge with a clan of Romani harpists, where her fame as a poet leads to estrangement from her family, exploitation by the ruling Communists, and a flight to the West as she struggles to find where she truly belongs, in a novel loosely based on the life of Romani poet Papsuza. 25,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Random House, c2006
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9781400063727
1400063728
Characteristics: 333 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top