Land of Love and Drowning

Land of Love and Drowning

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2014
Edition: Large print edition
ISBN: 9781410472786
1410472787
Characteristics: 579 pages (large print) ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kschafer12
Oct 11, 2016

I really tried to like this book but it left me feeling a bit disturbed...the way the book was written was not to my liking either. The author constantly gave the plot away which at the time in the book you are reading doesn't make any sense so I dont understand why it is even relevant to bring up...just let the story unfold...
Then to top it off there is a little bit about her daughter being telepathic? I tried to look past all this for some deeper meaning in the end but maybe unless you are from that region you just wont understand?

m
mosedevo
Aug 13, 2015

VACATION READ

j
joanieg19902
Dec 06, 2014

A wonderful book that describes the beauty and culture of the US Virgin Islands and British Virgin Islands. Tourists don't see this any more as the 'culture' of the USVI and BVI are so much about shopping and vacations. Having been there many times since the 60's, I really enjoyed this book. It is also a story of love and betrayal.

m
marthabwaters
Dec 02, 2014

This is a beautifully-written novel full of magical realism, set in the US Virgin Islands and covering several generations of women from the same family. It's not for everyone, and by the end of the novel I found myself losing interest in some of the characters, but I am positive that readers who like this sort of book will really enjoy this one. I'd suggest it as a great readalike for fans of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Isabel Allende.

ValleyViewLibrarians Aug 08, 2014

Lyrical writing and a lush tropical setting create a foundation for this densely-woven tapestry of love, magic, and desire. A must-read for fans of Isabel Allende and Gabriel García Márquez.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top