The Painted Queen

The Painted Queen

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Arriving in Cairo for another thrilling excavation season, Amelia is relaxing in a well-earned bubble bath in her elegant hotel suite in Cairo, when a man with knife protruding from his back staggers into the bath chamber and utters a single word"Murder"before collapsing on the tiled floor, dead. Among the few possessions he carried was a sheet of paper with Amelias name and room number, and a curious piece of pasteboard the size of a calling card bearing one word: "Judas." Most peculiarly, the stranger was wearing a gold-rimmed monocle in his left eye. It quickly becomes apparent that someone saved Amelia from a would-be assassinsomeone who is keeping a careful eye on the intrepid Englishwoman. After discovering a terse note clearly meant for Emerson"Where were you?"pushed under their door, Amelia knows that only one person can be that "someone": the brilliant master of disguise, Sethos.
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, [2017]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062083517
0062083511
Branch Call Number: Mystery Pet
Characteristics: large print
323 pages : map ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Hess, Joan

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Roundcat
Oct 19, 2017

I enjoyed visiting the Emerson family one last time, however, the writing was somewhat uneven as happens when a book is finished by a different author. The number of threats to Amelia and her family were rather outrageous. Of course, they were summarily dealt with, but there were parts when it seemed that Joan Hess had taken extreme liberties with Peters' original plot and characters, almost to the point of being farcical. The plot hung together and made sense for the most part, however, so I was glad to have most of the loose ends tied up by the end. The new character, who would have made an interesting addition to the later books in the series, will have to have his future imagined.

c
catostorm
Sep 23, 2017

As much as I enjoy Joan Hess as an author, she does not have the same voice as Elizabeth Peters. Ms. Hess made a valiant effort to complete this unfinished work, but it was not the same quality as Ms. Peters' work. I enjoyed the novel, but it left me feeling a little cheated.

c
corrine1964
Sep 08, 2017

for fans of Elizabeth Peters and Amelia Peabody this book sadly disappoints. The writing is not up to par and the characters are not the same. I did not even bother finishing it.

p
pishposh9
Aug 24, 2017

Very disappointing. Ms Peters was a gifted writer with wit and intelligence. In this work, the attempt at wit is overdone and the plot meanders.

Mysterysue Aug 17, 2017

So sad to know it's her last book, really enjoyed it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top