Country Grit

Country Grit

A Farmoir of Finding Purpose and Love

Book - 2017
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The author discusses her life running a small-scale sheep farm, describing how she cared for her animals and coped with financial difficulties by setting up Farm Stay, a guest house where people wanting to learn about farm life could stay.

Perseus Publishing
For Fans of Barbara Kingsolver's Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, a Memoir about Leaving the City Behind for a Life on a Farm.
Scottie Jones lived a typical suburban, professional life in Pheonix until her husband, Greg, got into a near-fatal car accident. While recovering, he became convinced that they needed a change and a simpler way of life, one more connected with nature and with each other. So, driven by a desire to cut ties with a material and convenient suburban life that had left them feeling empty, they bought a peaceful-looking farmhouse on sixty acres in Oregon and said good-bye to everything they knew.But though the grass may look greener, the road to pastural bliss is fraught with financial woes, relentless rural roadblocks, and colossal failures. When the burden becomes almost too much to bear, Scottie hits on the idea of turning a house they initially built for their daughter into a Farm Stay, where people could visit and learn about Leaping Lamb Farm. The Farm Stay becomes the niche that rescues them from foreclosure—having found both a sense of purpose and a sense of place, the couple now finds the means to sustain it.In a world increasingly filled with questions of where our food comes from and dissatisfactions about our modern lives, Country Grit is a story that will resonate with countless people itching to get back to the land. Told with humor and hard-earned wisdom, it is also an account of what small-scale farmers across the country experience everyday and a warning that the farming life is not for everyone.

Baker
& Taylor

Told with humor and hard-earned wisdom, the author shares her experience cutting ties with a material and convenient suburban life in order to start the Leaping Lamb Farm in Oregon, which, after many trials and tribulations, gave her and her husband a sense of purpose and a sense of place. 20,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York, NY : Skyhorse Publishing, [2017]
ISBN: 9781510722149
1510722149
Characteristics: 215 pages ; 26 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Northern Indiana Database Cluster

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top